top of page
Search
  • repeattherecord

Ayr United Fans Still to Decide Whether to Go Back to Supporting Their 'Big Team'

Ayr United fans have just 2 weeks to decide whether to remain on the Ayr United bandwagon or go back to supporting their 'Big Team'. The team have had a lot of success over the past couple of seasons having won League 1 to then going for back-to-back promotions by topping the Championship for the most part of the early 18/19 season.


It didn't work out the way they planned it as they settled into the final play-off spot after a falter in form when their top goal scorer Lawrence Shankland got injured. Inverness then knocked them out in the Scottish Premiership Play-Off Quarter Final so they remain in the Championship for another season at least.

No copyright infringement intended

However, now fans have to ask themselves, is this the end of this inspired run of form from the Honest Men? We've been speaking to some of these fans outside Sommerset Park and their predictions on the upcoming season.


Derek, 57 told Repeat The Record, "I mean I hope it continues as its good for the local sporting community. I will follow them loyally till the day I die, as long as it doesn't clash with any of Rangers home games".


David, 32 had this to say, "I think their chances of reaching the same dizzy heights of last season are slim. They've lost Shankland and we all saw how their form went once he got injured last campaign. I think a comfortable mid-table finish is on the cards."


Patrick, 45 said, "Its good to support my local team but at the end of the day 9 in a row is in sight this season so I will have to give Sommerset Park a miss but I wish them all the best in the up and coming relegation battle".


234 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page